The Pacific Northwest Section John A. Lechner (pronounced LECK ner) Award of Excellence recognizes a Pacific Northwest Section (PNWS) Service Provider Member who has demonstrated exemplary service to the drinking water community and to AWWA’s mission and goals.  Service provider members include manufacturers, consultants, and vendors. The name of the award is derived from John Lechner who was involved extensively in AWWA and was an advocate for the organization’s goals.  During his career, he was instrumental in the transition from the Manufacturers Advisory Committee to the current Manufacturers/Associates Council as it is known today.  John’s service was recognized by his peers, in his election as the first Chair of this new council.  John set the standard for both the dedication and support that manufacturers and associates provide through service in the waterworks industry.

The PNWS Lechner Award is presented annually at our Section Conference. Section Lechner Award recipients can be considered for the associations Lechner Award of Excellence which is presented annually at ACE. Past association award recipients from our Section and award criteria can be found on our association awards page on our website. 

  • 2010 – Patti Godwin
  • 2013 – Brad Phelps
  • 2014 – Bob Ward
  • 2015 – Kristin Young
  • 2016 – Bill Beckman
  • 2020 – Chris Young
  • 2021 – Lee Odell
  • 2022 – Corianne Burnett
  • 2023 – Alex Mofidi